Friday, September 14, 2018

Nels Cline's Lovers for Philadelphia

Back in June, I took part in Nels Cline's Lovers for Philadelphia concert as the sole Philadelphian in an all star-packed 17-piece ensemble. Yesterday, NPR's Jazz Night in America published the concert film.

I can say with certainty that this project will be one of my favorite things I've been a part of for a long time to come. It was such an honor to be a part of this and work with so many masters, especially Nels Cline. That it is a tribute to my hometown makes it all the more special. The concert video is up. Let's see if the part where venue got struck by lightning is in here!

Thanks Mark Christman and Ars Nova Workshop for making this one of a kind very special event happen. Glad that the rest of the world can see this now!

Friday, May 11, 2018

Bandcamp Daily Feature

Bandcamp Daily did this really nice feature on the past, present, and future work of Desertion Trio! Written by Brad Cohan. Check it out here:

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Analogman King of Tone for Reverb

Here's a piece I wrote on the Analogman King of Tone pedal. Thanks to Analogman's Mike Piera and Marc Ribot for the words!

Fred Oster's Vintage Instruments for Acoustic Guitar

Here's a piece I wrote for Acoustic Guitar magazine on Philadelphia's Fred Oster and his excellent shop, Vintage Instruments

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Premier Guitar

I have a few new pieces up on Premier Guitar's site right now: an interview with Bill Frisell, a lesson on triads, and a piece about flying with guitars featuring Dave Davies, Kaki King, Mary Halvorson, Jeff Parker, and Kevin Hufnagel.

Check em out:

Friday, March 2, 2018

Chicago Reader

Peter Margasak wrote about Midtown Tilt in the Chicago Reader in advance of our show on 3/14:

"His sounds conjure emotions stoked by ephemeral sorts of nostalgia. He’s as much a jazz musician as he is a rock player, and though he’s dug into both traditions he’s definitely found his sweet spot leading the instrumental Desertion Trio...Together they forge a soothing hybrid of post-Crazy Horse grind, Ennio Morricone spaghetti-western ambience, and atmosphere-drenched exotica...

The band’s tunefulness and delicate touch—even during its most punishing passages—have a universal profundity that I’ve been unable to resist."